50 Year Reunion of Vietnam Veterans Day I Part I

There are some jobs you get that you take to pay bills. There are some jobs you take because they will be fun. But on the rare occasion you take a job that is an honor.

That is what this weekend is for me, an honor. Starting last night and going through this coming Saturday I am creating a photograph document of the 50 year reunion of the Birddog Group of Vietnam Veterans. Many of these men have not seen each other since the war ended in 1975. I can’t even put into words how much of an honor it is and how great of a responsibility it is to cover this event. The first night was a dinner reception in the local country club. This room was over stuffed with veterans and their families. From the point of photography this was a giant cave. I lit the room with two strobes at either end reflecting of the ceiling. It was not ideal but it got the job done. Last night was not about getting creative. These men and women just wanted pictures with their friends and family on this special occasion. I took lots of pictures of people standing next to each other in a single line, no great compositions, no great lighting setups, amazing emotion.

I’ve selected five from the first night as my favorites and will be selecting more later. Over the next several days I will be posting the images and my experiences here. I hope you will be able to follow along. You can also keep track on Periscope. I will be broadcast live as much as possible. You can follow in on Periscope by looking up @timskipperphoto.

Till later….

 

I could not tell if he was happy or about to cry as he looked at the photographs from the Vietnam War.

I could not tell if he was happy or about to cry as he looked at the photographs from the Vietnam War.

 

VietnamVets50Yr_006w

 

There was great pride in who they were and what they had done.

There was great pride in who they were and what they had done.

 

VietnamVets50Yr_002w

 

Friends gathered together for drinks, stories, laughter, and a few tears.

Friends gathered together for drinks, stories, laughter, and a few tears.

