Finally Took the Plunge

MandyGranger_088wI am not quick to jump on new products that is going to make my “photography better.” Every manufacture promises better pictures, better workflow, etc.. Some of the promises are true, others are advertising hype. Because I know this I don’t jump every time something new hits the market. But I finally decided to take the plunge of Photoshop CC. I resisted for quite a long while. My CS5 did everything I needed it to do, I had a fast and effective workflow with Bridge and Photoshop, I had tried Lightroom in the past and didn’t like it (OH MY GOD! Right?), so why upgrade to a monthly service for $20 per month.

MandyGranger_082w MandyGranger_080wIt wasn’t a bad deal really but I just didn’t see the need and didn’t want to create an expense just to be “like everyone else.” Then Adobe offered something that was hard to pass up. Photoshop CC and Lightroom for $10 per month. That’s $120 for Photoshop and Lightroom including all the updates. When you consider cost if you upgraded every year on the previous version, this turns into an excellent deal. I don’t know if I’m going to use Lightroom, I’m still not sold on it but I will give it an honest try.

So with a new version of Photoshop comes the chance to try it out. I had just finished editing pictures with Mandy from the Tomb Raider series we shot. I had one image I didn’t edit so I took the new Photoshop on a quick run and  produced the picture at the top of the page. One picture is not enough to write a review but it did seem to process commands faster (don’t even know if that was one of the features). The biggest thing I found that I like is the mask opacity adjustment. Since I do a lot of color toning  being able to adjust the mask is a great feature.

If you want a copy of Photoshop CC at this price it is available till Dec. 31, 2013, you can learn more here.

MandyGranger_081w MandyGranger_083w MandyGranger_084w MandyGranger_085w MandyGranger_086w MandyGranger_087w

